Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Register to stream basketball live.

Watch NBA, Euroleague and more online


Latest EuroBasket Stories/

The FIBA EuroBasket, also referred to as the FIBA European Basketball Championship, is a biennial national basketball competition which has been held on the European continent since way back in 1935. It serves as qualifying tournament for the Olympic Games and the FIBA Basketball World Cup. From 2017 the tournament will change to four-year cycle. 

EuroBasket's format features a preliminary round with the twenty-four qualified teams placed into four groups of six with a round-robin tournament. The top three sides from those groups progress to the qualifying round, which boasts two groups of six.

The top four nations in each Qualifying Group advance to the knockout stage of the competition, which has a single-elimination format. As with most major tournaments a bronze medal game for the semi-final losers compliments the competition's deciding game.

The most successful country in the tournament's history was the former Soviet Union with fourteen titles.  

Egypt, on the other hand, has won more medals than Angola but they have only secured five gold with the remaining 12 being split equally between silver and bronze.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages